Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

Indian JSPS Alumni Association (IJAA)

The main activities of FY2021

  • IJAA conducted their first seminar under Nobel Laureate Seminar Series and 11 th India-Japan Science & Technology seminar during 6-7 December, 2021 (Online), which Jointly Inaugurated by H. E. Mr. Sanjay Kumar Varma, Ambassador of India to Japan, and H. E. Mr. Suzuki Satoshi, Ambassador of Japan to India. About 280 participants joined the seminar.
  • Dr. P. V. Mohanan, Organizing secretary of the seminar, made the welcome address followed by Chairman of IJAA, Prof. D. Sakthi Kumar’s address, in which he mentioned various activities that IJAA has been running to strengthen India-Japan Collaboration in the S&T field.
  • By delivering the Keynote address, Prof. Tasuku Honjo (Nobel Laureate 2018, Japan) detailed his work and showed the importance of the programmed cells death protein 1 (PD1) in the field of cancer and remarked on the importance of gut microbiota for the health of human beings. Prof. K. Vijayaraghavan (Principal Scientific Advisor to Govt. of India, India), during his Keynote address, touched on the importance of data analysis and application of AI for the future of the science and technology field as well as its different support in creating a meaningful life for the human beings.
  • During the seminar plenary talks delivered by eminent scientists from India and Japan including Prof. V. Ramgopal Rao, Director (IIT Delhi, India); Prof. Manoj Kumar Dhar, Vice-Chancellor (University of Jammu, India); Prof. Ram Lakhan Singh, Vice-Chancellor (University Jharkhand, India); Prof. Siva Umapathy, Director(IISER, Bhopal); Prof. Amita Aggrwal, Head, Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences, India; Dr. Chandrabhas Narayana, Director (RGCB, Trivandrum); Dr. Madhu Dikshit, Former Director (CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow); Dr. Umesh Shaligram, Director of R&D (Serum Institute, Pune); Mr. Rajamanikyam IAS, Managing Director (KSIDC, Kerala); Prof. Neelam Sangwan (Central University, Haryana) from Indian Side and Prof. Akimasa Fujiwara, Vice President (Hiroshima University), Prof. Hironao Sajiki, Vice President (Gifu Pharmaceutical University, Gifu); Prof. K. Fujikawa, Senior Professor and Research Advisor RIKEN, Japan); Prof. Seishi Ninomiya, (University of Tokyo), Prof. Yamamoto Yohei (University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba); Dr. Ayako Oyane, Senior Scientist (RIKEN, Japan) from Japan side.
Alumni Association in INDIA_2021_1
India-Japan Nobel Laureate Seminar, Dec. 6-7, 2021
Alumni Association in INDIA_2021_2
Dr. Susumu Satomi, President of JSPS, delivering Guest of Honor speech
Alumni Association in INDIA_2021_3
Prof. Tasuku Honjo (Nobel Laureate 2018, Japan) delivering keynote address