Home >> Programs >> JSPS PRIZE >> Program Outline
Program Outline
13th (FY2016) JSPS PRIZE Recipients Selected
13th (FY2016) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
12th (FY2015) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
11th (FY2014) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
10th (FY2013) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
9th (FY2012) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
8th (FY2011) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
7th (FY2010) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
6th (FY2009) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
5th (FY2008) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
4th (FY2007) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
3rd (FY2006) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
2nd (FY2005) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
1st (FY2004) JSPS PRIZE Awardees
JSPS Ikushi Prize TOP
Contact Information
Research Fellowship Division

- In Recognition and Support of Excellent Young Researchers -
‹Program Outline of 2016›

  1. Objective
  2. In order to raise the level of scientific research in Japan to the world's highest standard, it is important to recognize and support young researchers with rich creativity and superlative research ability at an early stage in their careers. To sustain the zeal of such researchers while offering them support in advancing their work, the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science established the JSPS PRIZE in FY2004.

  3. Applicable Fields
  4. All fields of the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences.

  5. Qualifications
  6. They must have published papers or articles in scientific journals and other publications in Japan and/or abroad, and obtained excellent scientific research achievements. As of 1 April 2016, they must be

    (1) Under 45 years of age
    (2) Have obtained a doctorate degree (or possess an equivalent level of scientific research expertise)
    (3) Must have Japanese citizenship, or be a foreign researcher who has conducted research at a Japanese research institution for five years or longer.

  7. Nominators

  8. (1) Presidents of universities and directors of research institutes may nominate candidates for the PRIZE.
    (2) Researchers with a record of superlative achievements may also nominate candidates.

  9. Selection Method
  10. Selections are made by the JSPS PRIZE Selection Committee established within JSPS.
    In making its selections, the Committee takes into consideration the results of a preliminary review of the nominees conducted by JSPS's Research Center for Science Systems.

  11. Award
  12. Each fiscal year, approximately 25 researchers are awarded the PRIZE. Prize money is in the amount of ¥1.1 million.
    Among the awardees, up to six will be selected to also receive the Japan Academy Medal.
    The award ceremony will be held at the Japan Academy.

  13. State of FY2016 PRIZE Nominations
  14. Nominations by
    Nominations by
    Subtotal Candidates from
    FY 2015 (note 1)
    Total (note 2)
    237 (247) 11 (11) 245 (254) 135 (116) 380 (370)
    Note 1: Nominations are valid for two years. The previous year's nominees, excluding recipients and those now over age 45 as of 1 April, are reviewed along with the new nominees.
    Note 2: Number of nominations, excluding duplications.
    Note 3: The numbers in parentheses are last year's figures, provided for comparison.

    List of JSPS PRIZE Selection Committee Members

    NOYORI, Ryoji (Chairman)   Director-General of Center for Research and Development Strategy, Japan Science and Technology Agency
    IGA, Kenichi Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology
    SAKAKI, Hiroyuki President, Toyota Technological Institute
    TASHIRO, Kazui Professor Emeritus, Keio University
    NAGAI, Ryozo President, Jichi Medical University 
    NAGATA,Shigekazu Professor, Immunology Frontier Research Center, Osaka University
    NISHIO, Shojiro President, Osaka University
    NISHIZAWA,Naoko Professor, Reseach Institute for Bioresources and Biotechnology, Ishikawa Prefectural University
    FUKUYAMA,Hidetoshi Special Advisor to the President, Tokyo University of Science
    MUROFUSHI,Kimiko President, Ochanomizu University
    MORI, Shigefumi, Director-General, Distinguished Professor, The Kyoto University Institute for Advanced Study Project Professor, Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences
    MORIMUNE, Kimio Chair of the Board of Trustees, Sugiyama Jogakuen
    YAMAGISHI,Toshio Adjunct Professor, Graduate School of International Corporate Strategy, Hitotsubashi University