Japan Society for the Promotion of Science


Research Cooperation Division I,
International Program Department,
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)
5-3-1 Kojimachi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-0083, JAPAN
TEL +81-3-3263-1944 TEL

Note: Please replace*with @.

Japanese-American-German FoS(JAGFoS) Symposium

2022 2019 2017


September 15 ~ September 18, 2022
(This symposium, which was initially scheduled on September 2020, has been postponed due to concern about COVID-19.)



Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center in Irvine, California, USA



U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS)
Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation (AvH)


Session Topics:


Synthetic Biology, Artificial Organisms, and Artificial Ecosystems

Small Molecule Activation and Conversion by Inorganic Complexes and Materials

Slow Earthquakes

Algorithms for Fairness in the Real World

Origin of Elements

Ethnocentrism in Science: What are We Missing and Why?




Report of the 3rd JAGFOS Symposium by PGM Co-Chair Dr. Osaka (PDF)

Questionnaire Results(PDF)


List of Participants:

   PGM: Planning Group Member
Biology/Life Sciences - Synthetic Biology, Artificial Organisms, and Artificial Ecosystems
PGM YAMAMICHI Masato Institute of Tropical Medicine, Nagasaki University
PGM W. Florian Fricke University of Hohenheim
PGM (Co-chair) Zachary Pincus (Online) Washington University in St. Louis
Introductory speaker TOJU Hirokazu Center for Ecological Research, Kyoto University
Speaker Xiaoxia ("Nina") Lin University of Michigan
Speaker Till Strowig Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Braunschweig
Chemistry/Materials Science - Small Molecule Activation and Conversion by Inorganic Complexes and Materials
PGM (Co-chair) OSAKA Itaru Graduate School of Advanced Science and Engineering, Hiroshima University
PGM Christine Beemelmanns (Online) Leipzig University
PGM Charles McCrory (Online) University of Michigan
Introductory speaker Smaranda C. Marinescu University of Southern California
Speaker NAKADA Akinobu Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University
Speaker Bartholomäus Pieber Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam
Earth Science/Geosciences/Environmental Sciences - Slow Earthquakes
PGM YASUNARI Teppei J. Arctic Research Center, Hokkaido University
PGM Ann Cook The Ohio State University
PGM Ilka Weikusat (Online) Alfred Wegener Institute, Bremerhaven
Introductory speaker FUKUSHIMA Yo International Research Institute of Disaster Science, Tohoku University
Speaker Amanda Thomas University of Oregon
Speaker Matt J. Ikari University of Bremen
(Applied) Mathematics/Computer Science/Engineering - Algorithms for Fairness in the Real World
PGM NOBUHARA Shohei Graduate School of Informatics, Kyoto University
PGM Wesley Pegden Carnegie Mellon University
PGM Michael Tangermann (Absent) Department of Computer Science, University of Freiburg
Introductory speaker Simina Brânzei Purdue University
Speaker IGARASHI Ayumi Principles of Informatics Research Division, National Institute of Informatics
Speaker Robert Bredereck Clausthal University of Technology
Physics/Astrophysics - Origin of Elements
PGM NAKATA Yoshifumi Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto University
PGM Anna Grassellino Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
PGM (Co-chair) Ursula Wurstbauer University of Münster
Introductory speaker Camilla Juul Hansen Goethe University Frankfurt
Speaker SEKIGUCHI Yuichiro Faculty of Science, Toho University
Speaker Yonatan Kahn University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Social Sciences - Ethnocentrism in Science: What are We Missing and Why?
PGM GOTO Jun (Absent) Graduate School of Economics, Kobe University
PGM Sarah E. Cowie University of Nevada, Reno
PGM Nadine Schöneck-Voss (Online) Niederrhein University of Applied Sciences
Introductory speaker Magdalena Nowicka German Centre for Integration and Migration Research
Speaker MORI Chikako (Absent) Faculty of Social Studies, Doshisha University
Speaker Debra Harry University of Nevada, Reno
General Participants (Japan)
General Participant KOBIYAMA Kouji The Institute of Medical Science,The University of Tokyo
General Participant NAKAYAMA Hokuto Graduate School of Science, The University of Tokyo
General Participant KABE Ryota Organic Optoelectronics Unit, Okinawa Insutitute of Science and Technology Graduate University
General Participant FUSE Shinichiro Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Nagoya University
General Participant NAKATA Ryoko Graduate School of Science, The University of Tokyo
General Participant TASAKA Miki Department of Earth Science, Shizuoka University
General Participant SUZUKI Taiji Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, The University of Tokyo
General Participant YAMAGUCHI Akihiko Graduate School of Information Sciences, Tohoku University
General Participant KODERA Tetsuo School of Science, Tokyo Institute of Technology
General Participant OZAWA Tomoki Advanced Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University
General Participant HIWATARI Masato Faculty of Economics and Business, Hokkaido University
General Participant MIFUNE Nobuhiro School of Economics & Management, Kochi University of Technology
General Participants (United States)
General Participant Kim Blisniuk San Jose State University
General Participant Chris Gignoux University of Colorado
General Participant Matthew Comstock Michigan State University
General Participant Jennifer Glass Georgia Institute of Technology
General Participant Monica Munoz-Torres University of Colorado Anschutz
General Participant Zachary Ross California Institute of Technology
General Participant Jessica Smith Colorado School of Mines
General Participants (Germany)
General Participant Michael Heymann University of Stuttgart
General Participant Ulf-Peter Apfel Ruhr-University Bochum
General Participant Alice-Agnes Gabriel Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich
General Participant Kira Rehfeld Tübingen University
General Participant Sebastian Fudickar University of Lübeck
General Participant Niki Kilbertus Technical University of Munich
General Participant Ronald Böck Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg & Genie Enterprises Inc.
General Participant Benedikt Friess Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
General Participant Jessica Ordemann German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW)
General Participant Christian Stein Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
General Participant Sandra Kurfürst University of Cologne