Research Cooperation Division,
International Program Department,
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)
5-3-1 Kojimachi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-0083, JAPAN
TEL+81-3-3263-1944, 1844

JFFoS Top Page


2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004
2018 2016 2015 2014
JGFoS2018 japanese  


September 6 - September 9, 2018



Kyoto Brighton Hotel (Kyoto, Japan)


セッショントピックスSession Topics:


Speciation genomics: How new species are formed

Molecular encryption and processing of information

Astrobiology: Life in extreme conditions

Programmable matter: The future of robotics

New observations for cosmology

Mechanisms of sociocultural evolution




Abstract & Glossary(PDF)Abstract & Glossary(PDF)


Questionnaire Results(PDF)Report of the 14th JGFoS Symposium by PGM Co-Chair Dr. Hasegawa (PDF)


Questionnaire Results(PDF)Questionnaire Results(PDF)


List of Participants:

   PGM: Planning Group Member
Speciation genomics: How new species are formed (Biology / Life Science)
PGM Naoki Osada Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Hokkaido University
PGM Tim Nicolai Siegel Biomedical Center Munich, Physiological Chemistry, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Introductory speaker Masato Yamamichi Department of General Systems Studies, The University of Tokyo
Speaker Claudius Kratochwil Department of Biology, University of Konstanz
Speaker Asano Ishikawa National Institute of Genetics, Research Organization of Information Systems
Molecular encryption and processing of information (Chemistry / Materials Science)
PGM Keiichi Inoue Institute for Solid State Physics, The University of Tokyo
PGM Stefan Schiller Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg Center for Biological Systems Analysis (ZBSA)
Introductory speaker Alexander Schiller Institute for Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry, University of Jena
Speaker Andreas Walther Institute for Macromolecular Chemistry, University of Freiburg 
Speaker Akihito Ishizaki Institute for Molecular Science, National Institutes of Natural Sciences
Astrobiology: Life in extreme conditions (Earth Science / Geosciences / Environment)
PGM Tomohiro Usui Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS), Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
PGM Thomas Laepple Helmholtz Young Investigators Group ECUS, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI)
Introductory speaker Ralf Möller

Jean-Pierre de Vera

German Aerospace Center, Cologne

Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin

Speaker Sihane Merouane Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Göttingen 
Speaker Yoshihiro Furukawa Department of Earth Science, Tohoku University
Programmable matter: The future of robotics (Mathematics / Informatics / Engineering)
PGM Shohei Hidaka Graduate School of Advanced Science and Technology, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
PGM Sanaz Mostaghim Faculty of Computer Science, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg
Introductory speaker Florian Röhrbein Informatics Department, TU Munich
Speaker Mariana Medina Sánchez Micro- and Nanobiomedical Engineering Group Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Material Research, Dresden
Speaker Jun Nakanishi Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Science and Technology, Meijo University
New observations for cosmology (Physics / Astrophysics)
PGM (Co-Chair) Yasuhiro Hasegawa Department of Environmental Science, Faculty of Engineering, Saitama University
PGM (Co-Chair) Michael Schmiedeberg Institute of Theoretical Physics 1, Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg
Introductory speaker Kohei Yorita Graduate school of Advanced Science and Engineering, Waseda University
Speaker Nadine Neumayer Research Group Galactic Nuclei, Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy (MPIA)
Speaker Keiko Kokeyama Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, The University of Tokyo
Mechanisms of sociocultural evolution (Social Sciences)
PGM Yui Arimatsu Graduate School of Letters, Hiroshima University
PGM Mandy Boehnke Bremen International Graduate School of Social Sciences (BIGSSS)
Introductory speaker Hisashi Nakao Department of Anthropology and Philosophy,  Nanzan University
Speaker Anne Kandler Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig
Speaker Kohei Tamura Frontier Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Tohoku University
General Participants (Japan)
General Participant Yuki Ishikawa Graduate School of Science, Nagoya University
General Participant Hitoshi Takizawa International Research Center for Medical Sciences, Kumamoto University
General Participant Hiroharu Ajiro Institute for Research Initiatives, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
General Participant Kumiko Hayashi Department of Applied Physics, Graduate School of Engineering, Tohoku University
General Participant Shigeyuki Betsuyaku Faculty of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Tsukuba
General Participant Aki Takigawa The Hakubi Center for Advanced Research/Division of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Kyoto University
General Participant Kanako Morohaku School of Science and Technology, Institute of Agriculture, Shinshu University
General Participant Jun Muto Graduate School of Sciences, Tohoku University
General Participant Kazunori Komatani The Institute of Scientific and Industrial Research, Osaka University
General Participant Makiko Sasada Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo
General Participant Mahito Sugiyama Principles of  Informatics Research Division, National Institute of Informatics
General Participant Kyoko Ishizaka Graduate School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo
General Participant Yoko Yamanishi Department of Mechanical Engineering, Kyushu University
General Participant Natsuho Tomabechi Faculty of Information Technology and Social Sciences, Osaka University of Economics
General Participant Yuichiro Fujioka Graduate School of  Integrated Sciences for Global Society, Kyushu University
General Participants (Germany)
General Participant Falk Butter Institute of Molecular Biology, Mainz
General Participant Ralf Möller German Aerospace Center, Cologne
General Participant Steffen Pauls Senckenberg Research Institute and Natural History Museum, Frankfurt am Main
General Participant

Cornelia Lee-Thedieck


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology 

General Participant Ana-Nicoleta Bondar Freie Universitaet Berlin
General Participant Jan-Peter Duda University of Goettingen
General Participant Ilka Weikusat Alfred Wegener Institute Bremerhaven
General Participant Alexander Spröwitz Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart
General Participant

Andreas Ruttor


Technical University Berlin

General Participant Corinna Maass Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization, Göttingen
General Participant

Stefan Ohm


Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

General Participant Andreas Haertel University of Freiburg
General Participant Adam Powell Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena
General Participant Nadine Schöneck-Voss University of Applied Sciences Niederrhein
General Participant Amir Madany Mamlouk University of Luebeck