HOPE Meetings

7th HOPE Meeting Lecturers

Prof. Makoto Kobayashi
Photo by KEK

Prof. Makoto KOBAYASHI
2008 Nobel Laureate in Physics
Director, Research Center for Science Systems, JSPS
Honorary Professor Emeritus, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK)

<Chairperson's Message: Prof. Makoto Kobayashi >

  Continuing with last year’s interdisciplinary meeting of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology/Medicine, this seventh HOPE Meeting will feature lecturers by Nobel Laureate in these fields. Also hailing from a wide range of majors, the young researchers will derive both inspiration and stimulus through their discussions with the top-level scientists during the program, designed to transcend the participants’ various academic fields and cultures in a way that allows them to share the joy and pain of research pursuit, giving them an ideal opportunity to recognize and respect each other as friends and colleagues.

  This HOPE Meetings will be linked with the Nobel Prize Dialogue Tokyo 2015. On its first day, the participants will attend the Dialogue, offering them a rare opportunity to meet and exchange views with people from a diverse spectrum of professions and occupations. Thus gaining wide field of reference, the HOPE Meeting participants are expected to go on to contribute to advancing science and building abundant societies within the global community.
Dr. Johannes Georg BEDNORZ    Dr. Johannes Georg BEDNORZ
Nobel Laureate in Physics 1987
IBM Fellow Emeritus, IBM Research GmbH, Switzerland
Prof. Douglas Dean Osheroff
  Prof. Douglas Dean OSHEROFF
Nobel Laureate in Physics 1996
Professor of Physics Emeritus, Stanford University
Prof. Hideki SHIRAKAWA   Prof. Hideki SHIRAKAWA
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2000
Emeritus Professor, University of Tsukuba
Prof. Aharon Jehuda CIECHANOVER
  Prof. Ei-ichi NEGISHI
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2010
Herbert C. Brown Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Purdue University
Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2011
Distinguished Professor of Materials Engineering, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
Prof. Kazutoshi MORI   Prof. Kazutoshi MORI
Lasker Awardee for Basic Medical Research 2014
Professor, Kyoto University
Prof. Gunnar ÖQUIST   Prof. Gunnar ÖQUIST
Professor Emeritus, Umeå University
Former Secretary General, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences