World Premier International Research Center Initiative (WPI) List of Working Group Leaders and Assigned Members

Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU), The University of Tokyo

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Ichiro Sanda	Professor Emeritus, Nagoya University	Theoretical Particle Physics
Domestic	Satoshi Iso	Professor, Institute for Particle and Nuclear Studies, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK)	Theoretical Particle Physics
	Tetsuji Miwa	Program-Specific Professor, Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences, Kyoto University	Algebraic Analysis, Integrable Models, Representation Theory
	kaoru Ono	Professor, Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University	Differential Geometry and Topology
Overseas	Ian Shipsey	Professor and Head, sub-Department of Particle Physics, University of Oxford, GBR	Theoretical Particle Physics, Cosmology
	Matthias Staudacher	Professor, Institute of Physics and Mathematics, Humboldt University, Berlin, DEU	Superstring Theory
	Anthony Tyson	Distinguished Professor, Department of Physics, University of California, Davis, USA	Cosmology

International Institute for Carbon-Neutral Energy Research (I²CNER), Kyushu University

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Kazunari Domen	Professor, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo	Photocatalyst
Domestic	Koichi Eguchi	Professor, Department of Energy and Hydrocarbon Chemistry, Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University	Electrochemistry, Catalyst
	Shuichiro Hirai	Professor, School of Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology	Thermal Engineering, Energy Science
	Naoki Shikazono	Professor, Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo	Heat Energy Engineering
Overseas	David L. Greene	Professor of Howard H. Baker, Jr. Center for Public Policy, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA	Energy Analysis Research
	Ellen Ivers-Tiffée	Head of the Institute for Applied Materials – Materials for Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DEU	Functional Ceramics for the Energy Sector(fuel cells, batteries, gas permeation membranes)
	Dimos Poulikakos	Director, Laboratory of Thermodynamics in Emerging Technologies, Institute of Energy Technology, ETH Zurich, CHE	Interfacial and Transport Phenomena and Energy, Emerging Technologies, Materials Focusing on the Physics at Micro- and Nanoscales

1

International Institute for Integrative Sleep Medicine (IIIS), University of Tsukuba

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Kozo Kaibuchi	Professor, Department of Cell Pharmacology, Graduate School of Medicine, Nagoya University	Pharmacology, Cell Biology, Neuroscience
Domestic	Noriko Osumi	Vice President, Tohoku University	Division of Developmental Neuroscience
	Toru Takumi	Team Leader, Center for Brain Science, RIKEN	Brain Science
	Makoto Uchiyama	Professor, Department of Psychiatry, School of Medicine, Nihon University	Psychiatry, Sleep Medicine, Chronobiology
Overseas	Thomas Kilduff	Center Director and SRI Fellow, Biosciences Division, Center for Neuroscience, SRI International, USA	Neurobiology of sleep and wakefulness
	Emmanuel Mignot	Director, Stanford Center for Sleep Sciences and Medicine, USA	Psychiatry
	Rick Neubig	Professor and Chairman, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Michigan State University, USA	Molecular Biophysics

Earth-Life Science Institute (ELSI), Tokyo Institute of Technology

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Shoken Miyama	Professor (Special Appointment), Office of the President, Hiroshima University	Theoretical Astronomy
Domestic	Mitsuyasu Hasebe	Professor, Division of Evolutionary Biology, National Institute for Basic Biology, National Institute of Natural Sciences	Evolutionary Biology
	Shin-ichi Kawakami	Professor, Faculty of Education, Gifu Shotoku Gakuen University	Earth and Planetary Science, Science Education
	Satoshi Yamamoto	Professor, Department of Physics, The University of Tokyo	Astrophysics, Astrochemistry
Overseas	George D. Cody	Acting Director, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington, USA	Chemical-structural Analyses of Solid Phase Organics
	Antonio Lazcano	Miembro de El Colegio Nacional Professor, Origins of Life and Evolutionary Biology, Facultad de Ciencias, UNAM, National Autonomous University of Mexico, MEX	Biology
	Edwin Turner	Professor, Department of Astrophysical Sciences, Princeton University, USA	Statistics and Astrobiology

Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Itaru Hamachi	Professor, Department of Synthetic Chemistry and Biological Chemistry, Faculty of Engineering, Kyoto University	Life Chemistry
Domestic	Yasuhiro Aoyama	Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University	Chemical Biology, Biofunctional Chemistry
	Nori Kurata	Professor emeritus, National Institute of Genetics, Research Organization of Information and Systems	Plant Genetics & Breeding, Plant Genome Science, Reproductive Biology, Evolution and Diversity)
	Hiroaki Suga	Professor, Graduate School of Science, The University of Tokyo	Bioorganic Chemistry
Overseas	Cheryl Arrowsmith	Professor, Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Toront, CAN	Organic Chemistry
	Wilhelm Gruissem	Professor, Department of Biology, ETH Zurich, CHE	Medical Biophysics
	Jonathan L. Sessler	Roland K. Pettit Chair in Chemistry, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, The University of Texas, USA	Genetics and Molecular Biology

International Research Center for Neurointelligence (IRCN), The University of Tokyo

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Yo-ichi Nabeshima	Director, Institute of Biomedical Research and Innovation, Foundation for Biomedical Research and Innovation at Kobe	Molecular Biology, Molecular Pathology
Domestic	Kaoru Inokuchi	Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine, Graduate School of Medicine & Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Toyama	Neurosceince
	Yukiyasu Kamitani	Professor, Graduate School of Informatics, Kyoto University	Cognitive and Computational Neuroscience
	Masayoshi Mishina	Professor, Brain Science Laboratory, The Research Organization of Science and Technology, Ritsumeikan University	Molecular Brain Science
Overseas	Bong-Kiun Kaang	Professor, National Honor Scientist, Chair, APRC, International Brain Research Organization (IBRO), Seoul National University, KOR	Psychiatry
	Christof Koch	President and Chief Scientific Officer, Allen Institute for Brain Science, USA	Neurosceince
	Michael P. Stryker	Professor, Center for Integrative Neuroscience, University of California San Francisco, USA	Developmental Neuroscience

Nano Life Science Institute (NanoLSI), Kanazawa University

	Name	Affiliation/Title	Research Fields
РО	Akihiko Nakano	Deputy Director and Team Leader, RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics	Cell Biology
Domestic	Hiroshi Ohno	Team Leader, RIKEN Center for Integrative Medical Sciences	Intestinal Immunology
	Yasuteru Urano	Professor, Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo	Chemical Biology
	Toshio Yanagida	Specially Appointed Professor, Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Osaka University Team Leader, Center for Biosystems Dynamics Research (BDR), RIKEN	Biophysics
Overseas	Juan Bonifacino	Associate Scientific Director, Cell Biology and Neurobiology Branch (CBNB), Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), National Institutes of Health (NIH), USA	Cell Biology/Membrane Traffic
	Daniel J. Muller	Professor of Biophysics, Dept. Biosystems Science and Engineering, ETH Zürich, CHE	Nanobiomechanics/AFM Imaging
	Christopher M Yip	Associate Vice President - International Partnerships, Professor, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Department of Biochemistry, The Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research, University of Toronto, CAN	Single Molecule Biophysics

3