World Premier International Research Center Initiative (WPI) List of Working Group Leaders and Assigned Members

As of October, 2011

WPI Advanced Institute for Materials Research (AIMR), Tohoku University

	Name	Affliation/Title
Chair	Yoshihito Osada	Group Director, RIKEN Advanced Science Institute
	Hideo Hosono	Professor, Frontier Research Center, Tokyo Institute of Technology
	Yasuhiko Shirota	Professor, Department of Environmental and Biological Chemistry, Fukui University of Technology
	Tomohiko Yamaguchi	Deputy Director, Nanosystem Research Institute, The National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology
	Toyonobu Yoshida	Professor, Department of Materials Engineering, The University of Tokyo
	Samuel M. Allen	POSCO Professor of Physical Metallurgy, Chair of the Faculty, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
	Colin Humphreys	Director of Research, Department of Materials Science, University of Cambridge
	Samuel I. Stupp	Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry, and Medicine, Northwestern University

Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (IPMU), The University of Tokyo

	Name	Affliation/Title
Chair	Ichiro Sanda	Professor, Department of Physics, Kanagawa University
	Yutaka Hosotani	Professor, Department of Physics, Graduate School of Science, Osaka University
	Tetsuji Miwa	Professor, Department of Mathematics, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University
	Hiraku Nakajima	Professor, Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University
	Tuneyoshi Kamae	Professor, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Stanford University
	Matthias Staudacher	Professor, Institute of Mathematics, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
	Anthony Tyson	Distinguished Professor, Department of Physics, University of California

Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences (iCeMS), Kyoto University

/	Name	Affliation/Title
hair	Toshio Suda	Professor, School of Medicine, Keio University
	Kazunori Kataoka	Professor, Department of Materials Engineering, The University of Tokyo
	Shigeki Mitaku	Professor, Department of Applied Physics, Nagoya University
	Toru Nakano	Professor, Department of Pathology, Faculty of Frontier Biosciences and Medical School, Osaka University
	Yoshiko Takahashi	Professor, Graduate School of Biological Sciences, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
	George Q. Daley	Director, Stem Cell Transplantation Program, Children's Hospital Boston
	Alexander V. Kabanov	Director, Center for Drug Delivery and Nanomedicine, University of Nebraska Medical Center
	Motomu Tanaka	Professor, Physical Chemistry of Biosystems, Institute of Physical Chemistry, University of Heidelberg

Immunology Frontier Research Center (IFReC), Osaka University

	Name	Affliation/Title
Chair	Takehiko Sasazuki	University Professor, Institute for Advanced Study, Kyushu University
	Haruo Kasai	Professor, Center of Disease Biology and Integrative Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, The University of Tokyo
	Shigeo Koyasu	Professor and Chairman, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine, Keio University
	Kouji Matsushima	Professor, Department of Molecular Preventive Medicine, Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo
	Nagahiro Minato	Professor, Department of Immunology and Cell Biology, Graduate School of Medicine, Kyoto University
	Günter J. Hämmerling	Director of the Institute for Immunology and Genetics, German Cancer Research Center in Heidelberg
	Hisataka Kobayashi	Associate (chief) scientist, Molecular Imaging Program, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health
	Philippe Kourilsky	Professor, College de France
	Diane Mathis	Chief, Division of Immunology, Department of Microbiology and Immunobiology, Harvard Medical School

International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (MANA), National Institute for Materials Science

	Name	Affliation/Title
Chair	Gunzi Saito	Professor, Research Institute, Meijo University
	Yoshinobu Aoyagi	Professor, Ritsumeikan Global Innovation Research Organization, Ritsumeikan University
	Takehiko Ishiguro	Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University
	Tadashi Matsunaga	President, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology
	Hiroshi Yoshida	Professor, Department of Materials Engineering Science, Osaka University
	David L. Allara	Professor, Departments of Chemistry and Materials Science & Engineering, Pennsylvania State University
	Klaus von Klitzing	Director, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Reseach

International Institute for Carbon-Neutral Energy Research (I²CNER), Kyushu University

	Name	Affliation/Title
Chair	Nobuhide Kasagi	Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo
	Kazunari Domen	Professor, Department of Chemical System Engineering, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo
	Koichi Eguchi	Professor, Department of Energy and Hydrocarbon Chemistry, Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University
	Shuichiro Hirai	Professor, Department of Mechanical and Control Engineering, Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology
	Ellen Ivers-Tiffée	Head, Institute of Materials for Electrical Engineering, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
	Dimos Poulikakos	Professor, Institute of Energy Technology, Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering, ETH Zurich
	Scott Samuelsen	Director, National Fuel Cell Research Center, University of California, Irvine