Research Cooperation Division,
International Program Department,
Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)
5-3-1 Kojimachi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-0083, JAPAN
TEL+81-3-3263-1944, 1844

JFFoS Top Page


2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004
2018 2016 2015 2014
JGFoS2015 japanese  


October 2 ~ October 4, 2015



Kyoto Brighton Hotel (Kyoto, Japan)


セッショントピックスSession Topics:


The microbiome - we are not alone

White Biotechnology

Earth Interior

Deep learning

SPIN - key phenomena in the smallest and the largest scale of nature

Managing Mega Cities




Abstract & Glossary(PDF)Abstract & Glossary(PDF)


Report on the 12th JGFoS Symposium by PGM Co-Chair Dr. Hirataniy(PDF)Report on the 12th JGFoS Symposium by PGM Co-Chair Dr. Hiratani(PDF)


Questionnaire Results(PDF)Questionnaire Results(PDF)


List of Participants:

   PGM: Planning Group Member
The microbiome – we are not alone (Biology / Life Science)
PGM (Co-Chair) Ichiro HIRATANI RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology
PGM Yvonne STAHL Heinrich Heine University
Introductory Speaker Koji HASE Keio University
Speaker Tsutomu TSUCHIDA University of Toyama
Speaker Eric KEMEN Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research
White Biotechnology (Chemistry / Materials Science)
PGM Takashi NAKANISHI National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
PGM Yvonne JOSEPH TU Bergakademie Freiberg
Introductory Speaker Susanne ZIBEK Fraunhofer Institute for Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology, IGB
Speaker Tetsuya TSUDA Osaka University
Speaker Jan von LANGERMANN University of Rostock
Earth Interior (Earth Science / Geosciences / Environment)
PGM Tomohiro USUI Tokyo Institute of Technology
PGM Andreas PACK University of Göttingen
Introductory Speaker Carmen SANCHEZ-VALLE University of Münster
Speaker Kenji KAWAI The University of Tokyo
Speaker Sandro JAHN University of Cologne
Deep learning (Mathematics / Informatics / Engineering)
PGM Shuntaro YAMAZAKI Google Japan

Ulrike LUCKE


University of Potsdam

Introductory Speaker Sven BEHNKE University of Bonn
Speaker Takayuki OKATANI Tohoku University
Speaker Grégoire MONTAVON Technical University Berlin
SPIN – key phenomena in the smallest and the largest scale of nature (Physics / Astrophysics)
PGM Kentaro MIUCHI Kobe University
PGM Knud JAHNKE Max Planck Institute for Astronomy
Introductory Speaker Hiromi IINUMA High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK)
Speaker Seigo SOUMA Tohoku University
Speaker Alina Maria DEAC Helmholtz - Zentrum Dresden - Rossendorf e. V.
Managing Mega Cities (Social Sciences)
PGM Tamaki ENDO Saitama University
PGM (Co-Chair) Dariuš ZIFONUN University of Applied Sciences
Introductory Speaker Wataru KUSAKA Nagoya University
Speaker Tomohiro MACHIKITA Japan External Trade Organization (IDE-JETRO)
Speaker Sandra KURFÜRST University of Cologne
General Participants (Japan)
Naoki OSADA Hokkaido University
Kenji KABASHIMA Kyoto University
Shigehiko HAYASHI Kyoto University
Miho YAMAUCHI Kyushu University
Masamichi YAMANAKA Shizuoka University
Kazuhide ITO Kyushu University
Yu NISHIHARA Ehime University
Kyoko YAMAOKA National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Rei KAWAKAMI The University of Tokyo
Hirokazu TANAKA Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Kenichi BANNAI Keio University
Toru TAMAGAWA RIKEN Center for Accelerator-Based Science
Yasuhiro HASEGAWA Saitama University
Atsushi ISHIDA Osaka University of Economics
Namie NAGAMATSU Kwansei Gakuin University
General Participants (Germany)
Ulrich HAMMES  Regensburg University
Alexis MAIZEL University of Heidelberg
Andrea BLECKMANN University Regensburg
Anna Sophie SCHENK University of Stuttgart
Nadja-Carola  BIGALL Leibniz University Hannover
Thomas LAEPPLE Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)
Katharina MARQUARDT University of Bayreuth
Gabriele PETERS University of Hagen
Wojciech SAMEK Fraunhofer HHI - Heinrich Hertz Institute
Andy THOMAS Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research Dresden (IFW)
Michael SCHMIEDEBERG Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf 
Marek KOWALSKI Humboldt Universität zu Berlin
Hella VON UNGER Ludwig - Maximilians - Universität (LMU)
Sybille FRANK Technical University Berlin
Dirk HEINRICHS Technical University Berlin