HOPE Meetings


Dr Esaki

Dr. Leo Esaki: Nobel Prize in Physics 1973
President, Science Academy of Tsukuba
President, Yokohama College of Pharmacy
Lecture:Man-made Superlattices: the Roots of Nanoscience and Nanoelectronics

<Message:Dr.Leo Esaki (Chairperson of 1st HOPE Meeting Organizing Committee)>

”This is what distinguishes leaders from followers.”

I had the great privilege of chairing last year’s first HOPE Meeting and of spending three stimulating days with the many talented young researchers who had gather to participate in it from around the Asia-Pacific region.

Science is an evolving culture. HOPE Meetings are carried out with the cooperation of my close friends and colleagues?Nobel laureates and frontline Japanese researchers. All of them have something in common: they don’t fear failure. Rather, they push forward against obstacles and setbacks with a relentless enthusiasm to discover and create. This is what distinguishes leaders from followers. It’s the gene passed from generation to generation of researchers that makes science evolve. I was pleased to see that gene implanted in the hearts of the young researchers as they interacted closely with the leading scientists over the course of the HOPE Meeting. I could see it manifest in their glowing countenance when I gave each of them a commemorative medal and shook their hand at the closing ceremony?they exuded aspiration and confidence.

Hope Meetings are a new initiative. As they are repeated each year, I look forward to them taking deep root within the Asia-Pacific region. I can say with certainty that they will inspire and impel the young participants to go on to become genuine leaders within the region and beyond.

Dr. Heinrich Rohrer

Dr. Heinrich Rohrer: Nobel Prize in Physics 1986
Ex-Fellow, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory
Lecture:Nanotechnology, a Key to Sustainability

Dr. Hideki Shirakawa

Dr. Hideki Shirakawa: Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2000
Professor Emeritus, University of Tsukuba
Lecture:The Discovery of Polyacetylene Film
- The Dawning of an Era of Conducting Polymers -

Dr. Alan Heeger

Dr. Alan Heeger: Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2000
Professor of Physics Department, University of California, Santa Barbara
Lecture:Bulk Heterojunction Material: Self-Assembled Nano-Materials for Low Cost Solar Cells

Dr. Robert B. Laughlin

Dr. Robert B. Laughlin: Nobel Prize in Physics 1998
Professor of Physics, Stanford University

Dr. Borje Johansson

Dr. Borje Johansson
Professor, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Professor, Physics Department, Uppsala University
Member, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Lecture:The Nobel Prize and the Nobel Prize in Physics 2007

Dr. Sumio Iijima

Dr. Sumio Iijima
Professor, Meijo University/
Senior Research Fellow, NEC/
Director of Research Center for Advanced Carbon Materials,
National Institute for Advanced Industrial Science and Technology
Lecture:High Resolution Electron Microscopy and Carbon Nanotubes

Dr. Yasuhiro Arakawa

Dr. Yasuhiro Arakawa
Director, Professor,
Collaborative Institute for Nano Quantum Information Electronics,
Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology,
Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo
Lecture:A Quarter-Century of Quantum Dots: From Science to Practical Implementation

Dr. Akira Fujishima

Dr. Akira Fujishima
Chairman, Kanagawa Academy of Science and Technology
Lecture:TiO2 Photocatalysis Based on Nanotechnology

Dr. Tsuneya Ando

Dr. Tsuneya Ando
Professor of Department of Physics, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Lecture:Emerging Physics in Carbon Nanotube and Graphene: Some History of Solid State Physics in Japan

Dr. Toshio Yanagida

Dr. Toshio Yanagida
Professor of Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Graduate School of Medichine, Osaka University
Lecture:Single Molecule Nanobiology for Elucidating the Mechanism Involved in Utilizing Fluctuations by Biosystems

Mr. Ikuo Hirayama

Mr. Ikuo Hirayama
President, Foundation for Cultural Heritage and Art Research
Lecture:Multicultural Origins of Japanese Culture

Dr. David Swinbanks

Dr. David Swinbanks
Publishing Director, Nature Publishing Group (NPG)
CEO, NPG Nature Asia-Pacific
Lecture:The Rise of the Asia-Pacific Region in Science